College, as stated in the Act of 1874, (37 Vict., c. 36), was "for the purpose of imparting a complete education in all branches of military tactics, fortifications, engineering and general scientific knowledge in subjects connected with and necessary to a thorough knowledge of the military profession, and for qualifying officers for command and for staff appointments." In addition to the foregoing the course of instruction is such as to afford a thorough, practical and scientific training in civil engineering, surveying, physics and chemistry, English and French. Strict discipline, combined with physical training, riding, drill and outdoor games, forms part of the curriculum.

The College is situated on a beautiful peninsula one mile from Kingston, with the Cataragui river on one side, emptying into the St. Lawrence river at its juncture with lake Ontario, and Navy bay on the other. The grounds include about 60 acres on which are situated the Educational Building and a new Educational Building in course of construction. The College is under the supervision of Militia Headquarters, who annually appoint a board of visitors composed of leading Canadian citizens both civil and military. The staff is composed of a commandant and a staff adjutant, assisted by a competent staff of civil and military professors and instructors. A four years' course leads to a "Diploma with Honours," or "Diploma" and "Certificate of Discharge." To graduates are annually offered a number of commissions in the Canadian permanent force as well as commissions in the Royal Artillery, Royal Engineers and other branches of the Imperial Service. Positions in the Public Works Department, Hydrographic Surveys, etc., are also available for graduates. The McGill and Toronto Universities admit graduates to the third year in their Science Faculties, and the Law Schools also offer privileges.

DEPARTMENT OF NAVAL SERVICE.

The Naval Service of Canada was established by the Naval Service Act, 1910 (9-10 Edw. VII, c. 53). As originally established the Department consisted of 8 Branches,—(1) Naval, (2) Fisheries, (3) Fishery Protection, (4) Tidal and Current Survey, (5) Hydrographic Survey, (6) Radiotelegraphy, (7) Patrol of Northern Waters, and (8) Life Saving Service.

In 1920 the Department was re-organized to consist of six Branches,—(1) Naval, (2) Fishery Protection, (3) Hydrographic Survey, (4) Tidal and Current Survey, (5) Radiotelegraphy, and (6) Patrol of Northern Waters, the Fisheries and Life Saving Branches were transferred to the Department of Marine. The appropriation for the Department for the year 1920–21 was \$3,897,840, of which sum \$2.832,906 was expended up to the 31st December, 1920.

In 1920 the ships of the old fleet were disposed of and a more modern fleet, consisting of one cruiser, two torpedo boat destroyers, and two submarines, acquired by free gift from the Imperial Government. The ships of this fleet are particularly well adapted for